English
 
Department history
History in faces

HISTORY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICAL AND ORGANIC CHEMISTRY

Department of physical and organic chemistry was organized in 1980 on the basis of two departments Department of physical and colloid chemistry and Department of analytical and organic chemistry.

Department of physical and colloid chemistry appeared in Donetsk coal-chemical Institute in 1930, and its first head up to 1939 was Professor V.S. Crym. In the pre-war and war years the Department was headed by V.Ya. Volkov (1939-1941) and M.D. Kuznetsov (1942-1944). From 1945 to 1968 the head of the Department was Assoc. Prof. F.A. Santalov. During 1968-1980, the Department of physical and colloid chemistry was headed by a prominent scientist in the field of chemical thermodynamics D. Sc., Prof. N.L. Yarym-Agayev. He founded the physico-chemical school with the scientific specialization "Thermodynamics of phase equilibria". It has been functioning for over 60 years. Over the years N.L. Yarym-Agayev and his disciples developed the description of phase equilibrium liquid-vapor in two- and multi-component systems for a wide class of such systems: with chemical interaction, with association of components in the gas phase, with ideal and non-ideal vapour phase, impurity type systems, etc. The investigation of electrical conductivity of alkaline metals halogenides saturated vapor was innovative. The results of this work are summed up in publications in leading periodicals of the USSR Academy of Sciences.

Department of analytical chemistry was founded in 1932, and in 1964 it became part of the Department of analytical and organic chemistry. The first head was Assoc. Prof. R.N. Golovatiy (1932-1944), later Assoc. Prof. M.I. Babkin (1944-1964). The Department has implemented a comprehensive scientific study of oxalates solubility, the development of methods for phenols determination, carried out state contractual work on the mine waters analysis. During this period two candidate theses were defended.

In 1968, under the scientific supervision of Assoc. Prof. K.A. Uvarova the study of the complexation of metal cations with organic ligands started. This investigation initiated a new scientific specialization associated with the analysis of non-ferrous and ferrous metals. Since 1968 in the field of analytical chemistry over 100 scientific papers have been published and four PhD theses defended.

After detachment from the Mining Institute of independent Donetsk coal-chemical Institute in 1930, the Department of organic chemistry was headed by Prof. A.I. Tulparov, and in 1935. Prof. N. Rozhdestvensky. In the period 1950-1961 the head of the Department was Prof. V.M. Kravchenko, the sphere of his scientific interests included the issues of phase equilibrium in systems containing coal tar components.

In 1964 the Department of analytical and organic chemistry was formed. It was headed by Assoc. Profs A.K. Spitsyn (1964-1968), K.A. Uvarova (1968-1977) and D.D. Mysyk (1978-1980). Between 1980 and 2005 the Department of physical and organic chemistry was headed by Prof. V.G. Matvienko. Now the Department is headed by D. Sc., Prof. Yu.B. Vysotsky. One of research activities of the Department is the study of thermodynamic equilibria of liquid-vapor systems containing hydrocarbons derivatives, as well as their interface behaviour. Within this trend there are two specializations. One of them, associated with quantum-chemical modelling of the surfactants films formation at water-vapor interface, is headed by Yu.B. Vysotsky. The calculations are carried out within the framework of the semi-empirical methods, mainly PM3 method. The thermodynamic parameters of clustering of alcohols, saturated and cis-monoenoic of carboxylic acids, amino acids, substituted melamine, thioalcohols, amines, fluoroalcohols on the interfacial surface have already been calculated. At present the effect of external factors on the thermodynamic regularities of clustering process is under study. In the future we plan to initiate the investigation of biological systems, particularly proteins. According to the long-term cooperation agreement with Institute of colloids and surface of Max Planck Institute (Holm, Germany), Yu.B. Vysotsky is one of the scientific supervisors of the joint project "Quantum-chemical description of the processes of organic molecules clustering and re-clustering at liquid-vapor interface". The results of the research are published in over 50 papers, including publications in international journals.

The second specialization, formed by D. Sc., Prof. N.L. Yarym-Agayev 60 years ago, is now headed by Prof. V. G. Matvienko. Its scientific interest is chemical thermodynamics of phase equilibria. During its existence the school has published over three hundred research papers. Description of liquid-vapor equilibrium in two- and multi-component systems with ideal gas phase, chemical interaction and association of components in the vapor phase, non-ideal gas phase, in the systems of extrinsic type, has been described, theoretically and experimentally confirmed. Ionic equilibria in halides of alkali and alkaline earth metals vapors and binary systems on their basis have been investigated (theoretically and experimentally). The liquid-vapor equilibrium in a number of dual salt systems on the halides of alkali metals basis at high temperatures has been studied.

Considerable experimental data on solubility of natural gas components (hydrocarbons, H2S, CO2, COS, etc.) in various solvents (N-methylpyrrolidone, ?-butyrolactone, methanol, acetone, diethylene glycol, etc.) has been accumulated, recommendations on use of these adsorbents for gas purification developed. A number of investigations into phase equilibria liquid-liquid, liquid-crystals, liquid-crystal-vapor systems containing industrially important components has been carried out. The concept of the "anomalous" nature of liquid-vapor equilibrium setting process has been suggested and theoretically corroborated.

Since 1965 there has been scientific activity in the field of analytical chemistry concerned with the separation, extraction and concentration in the analysis, the development of determination methods for non-ferrous and rare metals. These studies were carried out under the guidance of Assoc. Prof. K.A. Uvarova. On this subject there have been published 89 scientific papers, contractual work on ferrous metals alloys analysis certification being carried out. Since 1979 the work in non-ferrous metals analysis attestation is performed. The results were included into standard alloys certificates. Within the program of education of highly qualified specialists in analytical chemistry four PhD theses have been defended.

The organic chemistry research was formed by Assoc. Prof. D.D. Mysyk. Since mid-1960s, the scientists of the Department focused on the development of electrons acceptance synthesis and study of their complexes with charge transfer, and compounds with intra-molecular charge transfer, the compounds photoconductivity activation of organic semiconductor materials used for recording the optical information.

All the subjects taught in the Department, are provided with the corresponding teaching materials. Particularly important is an original course of lectures on physical chemistry, developed by Prof. N.L. Yarym-Agayev. Laboratory basis of the Department supports adequate academic process for DonNTU students in physical, colloid, analytical and organic chemistry and other disciplines related to chemistry.

Українська  Русский  English
 
История кафедры
История в лицах

ИСТОРИЯ КАФЕДРЫ ФИЗИЧЕСКОЙ И ОРГАНИЧЕСКОЙ ХИМИИ

Кафедра физической и органической химии была организована в 1980 г. на базе двух кафедр — кафедры физической и коллоидной химии и кафедры аналитической и органической химии.

Кафедра физической и коллоидной химии появилась в Донецком углехимическом институте в 1930 г., и первым ее заведующим до 1939 г. был проф. В.С.Крым. В предвоенные и военные годы кафедрой руководили В.Я.Волков (1939-1941) и М.Д.Кузнецов (1942-1944). С 1945 по 1968 гг. заведующим был доц. Ф.А.Санталов. В течение 1968-1980 гг. кафедру физической и коллоидной химии возглавлял выдающийся ученый в области химической термодинамики — д.х.н., проф. Н.Л.Ярым-Агаев. Основанная им физико-химическая школа с научным направлением «Термодинамика фазовых равновесий» существует уже более 60 лет. За эти годы Н.Л.Ярым-Агаевым и его учениками разработано описание фазового равновесия жидкость-пар в двух- и многокомпонентных системах для широкого класса таких систем: с химическим взаимодействием, ассоциацией компонентов в газовой фазе, с идеальной и неидеальной паровой фазой, системах примесного типа и др. Пионерскими были работы в области изучения электропроводности насыщенного пара галогенидов щелочных металлов. Результаты этих работ отражены в публикациях в ведущих периодических изданиях АН СССР.

Кафедра аналитической химии была основана в 1932 г., а в 1964 г. она вошла в состав кафедры аналитической и органической химии. Первым заведующим был доц. Р.Н.Головатый (1932-1944), позднее — доц. М.И.Бабкин (1944-1964). Кафедра осуществляла комплексное научное исследование растворимости оксалатов, разработку методов определения фенолов, выполняла госдоговорную работу по анализу шахтных вод. За этот период было защищено две кандидатские диссертации.

С 1968 г. под руководством доцента кафедры К.А.Уваровой начались работы по исследованию комплексообразования катионов металлов с органическими лигандами, которые положили начало новому научному направлению, связанному с анализом сплавов цветных и черных металлов. С 1968 г. в области аналитической химии опубликовано более 100 научных работ, защищено четыре кандидатские диссертации.

После выделения из Горного института самостоятельного Донецкого углехимического института в 1930 г. кафедрой органической химии заведовал проф. А.И.Тулпаров, а с 1935г. — проф. Н.Н.Рождественский. В течение 1950-1961 гг. заведующим кафедрой был проф. В.М.Кравченко, в сферу научных интересов которого входили вопросы фазовых равновесий систем, содержащих компоненты каменноугольной смолы.

В 1964 г. была основана кафедра аналитической и органической химии. Заведовали ею доценты А.К.Спицын (1964-1968), К.А.Уварова (1968-1977) и Д.Д.Мысык (1978-1980).

Лаборатория аналитической химии ДПИ, 1965 г.Лаборатория аналитической
химии ДПИ, 1965 г.

В течение 1980-2005 гг. кафедрой физической и органической химии заведовал доц. В.Г.Матвиенко. Сейчас кафедру возглавляет проф. Ю.Б.Высоцкий. Одним из направлений научно-исследовательской деятельности кафедры является исследование термодинамических равновесий систем жидкость-пар, содержащих производные углеводородов, и поведение последних на поверхности раздела фаз. В рамках этой тематики выделяются два направления. Одно из них, возглавляемое Ю.Б.Высоцким, связано с квантово-химическим моделированием образования пленок ПАВ на поверхности раздела фаз вода-пар. Расчеты проводятся в рамках полуэмпирических методов, преимущественно РМ3- метода. Уже рассчитаны термодинамические параметры кластеризации спиртов, насыщенных и цис-моноенових карбоновых кислот, аминокислот, замещенных меламинов, тиоспиртов, аминов, фторспиртов на межфазной поверхности. В настоящее время изучается влияние внешних факторов на термодинамические закономерности протекания процесса кластеризации. В дальнейшем планируется переход к изучению биологических систем, в частности, белков. В рамках долгосрочного соглашения о сотрудничестве с Институтом коллоидов и поверхности Макса Планка (Гольм, Германия) Ю.Б.Высоцкий является одним из руководителей совместного проекта «Квантово-химическое описание процессов кластеризации и рекластеризации органических молекул на поверхности раздела фаз жидкость-пар». По результатам проведенных исследований опубликовано около 50 работ, в том числе в международных журналах.

Вторым направлением, сформированным д.х.н. проф. Н.Л.Ярым-Агаевым, руководит доц. В.Г.Матвиенко. Эта научная школа существует уже более шестидесяти лет. Ее направление — химическая термодинамика фазовых равновесий. За время существования школы опубликовано более трехсот научных работ. Разработано, теоретически и экспериментально обосновано описание равновесия жидкость-пар в двух - и многокомпонентных системах с идеальной газовой фазой, с химическим взаимодействием и ассоциацией компонентов в паровой фазе, с неидеальной газовой фазой, в системах примесного типа. Исследованы (теоретически и экспериментально) ионные равновесия в парах галогенидов щелочных и щелочноземельных металлов и двойных системах на их основе. Изучено равновесие жидкость-пар в ряде двойных солевых систем на основе галогенидов щелочных металлов при высоких температурах.

Накоплен значительный экспериментальный материал по растворимости компонентов природного газа (углеводородов, H2S, CO2, COS и др.) в различных растворителях (N-метилпирролидоне, ?-бутиролактоне, метаноле, ацетоне, диэтиленгликоле и др.), выданы рекомендации по использованию этих адсорбентов для очистки газа. Проведен ряд исследований фазовых равновесий жидкость-жидкость, жидкость-кристаллы, жидкость-кристаллы-пар в системах, содержащих промышленно важные компоненты. Выдвинута и теоретически обоснована концепция «аномального» характера процесса установления равновесия жидкость-пар.

С 1965 г. существует научное направление работ по аналитической химии, связанное с разделением экстракции и концентрации в анализе, разработкой методик определения цветных и редких металлов. Эти исследования проводились под руководством доц. К.А.Уваровой. По этой тематике опубликовано 89 научных работ, выполнялись хоздоговорные работы по аттестационному анализу сплавов черных металлов. С 1979 г. выполняется работа по аттестационному анализу сплавов цветных металлов. Полученные результаты вошли в свидетельства на стандартные образцы сплавов. По программе подготовки специалистов высшей квалификации по специальности «Аналитическая химия» за истекший период защищены четыре кандидатские диссертации.

Направление научно-исследовательской работы по органической химии формировал доц. Д. Д. Мысык. Начиная с середины 1960-х годов, ученые кафедры сосредоточили внимание на разработке синтеза електроноакцепторов и исследовании их комплексов с переносом заряда и соединений с внутримолекулярным переносом заряда, изучалась активация этими соединениями фотопроводимости органических полупроводниковых материалов, используемых в качестве средств регистрации оптической информации.

Все дисциплины, по которым ведется обучение на кафедре, обеспечены методическими материалами. Особенно следует отметить оригинальный курс лекций по физической химии, разработанный проф. Н.Л.Ярым-Агаевым. Лабораторная база кафедры позволяет проводить обучение студентов ДонНТУ по физической, коллоидной, аналитической и органической химии и другим дисциплинам, связанным с изучением химии.